ACE Prominently Featured on 2017 Live Broadcast of American Graduate Day Program October 14

Mary Sarai Mike Group Photo.jpgACE mentors, an alumna, and National Board member will be interviewed live on two segments of the nationally broadcast program American Graduate Day (AGD) which can be seen on many PBS affiliates across country.

Mentoring and workforce development are the themes of this year’s four-hour program which starts at 2:00 pm ET. The specific program segments involving ACE are noted below.

When

Saturday, October 14

4:00 – 4:30 pm ET (3:00 - 3:30 pm CT; 1:00 - 1:30 pm PT)
Sometime during this half-hour segment, two mentors and an alumna from the San Antonio, TX Affiliate will discuss ACE’s impact.

5:00 – 6:00 pm ET (4:00 - 5:00 pm CT; 2:00 – 3:00 pm PT)
Sometime during this closing segment, a panel of CEOs from leading corporations – including national ACE sponsor Turner Construction – will discuss how mentoring promotes workforce development.

Who

Mary Sarai Mike 3.jpgPeter Davoren, First Vice Chair of ACE Board of Directors and President and CEO of Turner Construction will participate on the CEO panel.

Representing the San Antonio Affiliate are:

Sarai Martinez – An ACE student 2010-12 and scholarship recipient, Sarai is the first in her immigrant family to attend college. Turner Construction offered her a paid internship for two years and then extended regular employment to her and is underwriting her tuition at the University of Texas (San Antonio) which she attends part-time and where she expects to earn a construction management degree in 2018.

Mary Stewart, P.E. – A mentor for 11 years and 2017 ACE Outstanding Mentor, Mary helped guide Sarai from high school into college and inspired her to realize that there is a place for women in the construction industry. Mary is project manager with Civil Engineering Consultants in San Antonio.

Sarai Mary Mike Seated.jpgMike Kaiman – Mike began his service as an ACE mentor with Indianapolis Affiliate and in 2009 moved to San Antonio where he has mentored and now serves on the affiliate board. In addition to mentoring Sarai in ACE, he has also guided her in her career with Turner. He is the Turner’s Vice President and General Manager of South Texas.

Tune in to These Stations

The following PBS stations will broadcast the American Graduate Day program in its entirety. For cities not listed below, check local listings. Some PBS affiliates do not carry the show (e.g., San Francisco; Portland, OR; Dallas; Denver), or only broadcast part of the program (e.g., Cleveland).

City PBS Station   City PBS Station
Austin, TX KLRV   Los Angeles KOCE 
Baltimore Maryland Public Television   Nashville NPT
Boston  WGBX 44   New York City WNET
Chicago WTTW Prime   Philadelphia WHYY
Houston KUHT   San Diego KPBS

Indianapolis

WFYI 1   Seattle KCTS 9
Jacksonville, FL WJCT   Washington, DC WHUT

 

Watch the ACE Mentor Program segment of the 2015 AGD broadcast.

ACE Mentor Program’s interview on the American Graduate Day 2016

You Tube Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Copyright © ACE Mentor